Going gluten-free usually means giving up some of your favorite foods and drinks, but that doesn’t mean that you’re out of luck in the department of alcoholic beverages. We’ll cover everything you need to know about the best gluten-free alcohol drinks, and which drinks are safe for you to drink.
Alcoholic Beverages That Are Safe To Drink
There are plenty of drinks that are naturally gluten-free, and there are those that are safe for people with gluten-free allergies. Some distilleries take special precautions to ensure that the gluten content in their drinks is safe for those with Celiac disease.
The Alcohol and Tobacco Trade and Tax Bureau are in charge of regulating the majority of alcoholic beverages in the United States. They concluded that drinks made from grains like wheat and rye, such as liquor, can be gluten-free.
According to the TTB, “Because distillation removes protein if good manufacturing practices are followed, and because it is possible to verify the absence of protein or protein fragments in these products using scientifically valid analytical methods” the gluten-free label is allowed on bottles of alcoholic beverages that do not contain gluten. The company is required to follow safe practices to guarantee that there is no gluten in the product, and they must be able to verify that it is safe.
Pure Distilled Liquor
Pure distilled liquor is often avoided because most liquors are made with wheat, barley, or rye. However, the distillation process makes most of these products safe for people with Celiac disease. Awesome liquors that are free from gluten after the distillation process include:
Wine is naturally gluten free, so it’s generally considered safe for people with gluten allergies. However, it’s important to make sure that you check the label for food additives and other ingredients that may contain gluten.
Champagne, which is also known as sparkling champagne, is also naturally free of gluten. As with wine, it’s important to double-check for additives that may contain gluten.
Most Hard Cider
Hard cider is made from apples, which are gluten free. Some great brands of hard cider to try include Angry Orchard and Strongbow.
If you’re nervous about your vodka being made from certain grains, check out brands that are made from foods like corn or grapes instead. Ciroc is a great gluten-free vodka! If you’re not a fan of Ciroc, check out Blue Ice vodka, Cold River vodka, Ocean vodka, or Tito vodka!
Cheaper brands of tequila are often made with wheat and other grains that contain gluten, so it’s best to check the label or watch for a gluten free label. However, tequila that is made the traditional way is often gluten free. Some great gluten free brands of tequila include Cabo Wabo, Cazul, Jose Cuervo, and Patron Tequila.
Rum is naturally made from molasses and sugarcane, both of which are gluten free. It’s generally accepted that rum is gluten free, but it’s still important to check the label. A few delicious gluten free brands to try are Captain Morgan Rum, Kraken, and Malibu Rum.
Most alcohol-free beer is free from gluten, but it’s always important to double-check because beer may be made from barley, even if it doesn’t contain alcohol. However, if you’re dying for some homemade pizza — like this one from Gluten Free Palate — and beer, alcohol-free beer is one of your best bets for finding a delicious gluten-free beer.
If you’re a fan of mixed drinks, it’s critical to understand which ingredients do and do not, contain gluten. You’ll be able to ask the bar what ingredients are in a drink to determine if it’s safe to drink or make your own at home.
Orange juice is one of the most popular things to mix alcohol with, so it’s wonderful news that it’s gluten free!
Other Fruit Juices
Fresh fruit juices, such as lemon juice and apple juice, are gluten free. Most fruit and vegetable juices can be easily found without gluten.
However, wheat is often found in preservatives. That makes it important to double-check the label of canned and frozen juices.
There are plenty of gluten-free mixers on the market! TGI Fridays is not a gluten-free label, but they do sell some great flavors that just so happen to be gluten-free, like Long Island Iced Tea, Margarita, Mudslide, and Pina Colada. All Canada Dry mixer products are gluten-free. Jose Cuervo Margarita Mix is also free from gluten. Other brands to check out include:
- Clamato Brand Tomato Cocktail
- Master of Mixes
- Daily’s Cocktails
Things To Watch Out For
While there are plenty of alcoholic drinks and mixes that are safe for people with a gluten sensitivity or Celiac disease, there are plenty of things to watch out for to make sure that you do not accidentally consume gluten.
Many alcoholic drinks are processed in facilities that also process gluten-containing products. Because of this, it’s critical to know where the alcohol is processed or check for a gluten free label.
Products That Do Not Claim To Be Gluten Free
Sometimes, the process used in distilling liquor and other alcoholic beverages can eliminate the gluten in the product. Then, more grains are added after this process, resulting in the product containing gluten. Instead of assuming that every distilled product is safe, it’s best to check labels. You can also contact the company with questions regarding whether their product contains gluten.
Beer is fermented and not distilled, so it does not undergo the same process that removes gluten from other alcoholic products. It is also made from barley, so it’s best for those with gluten allergies or Celiac disease to avoid this drink.
It’s important to double-check the ingredients on flavored drinks. Many flavorings have gluten-containing ingredients.
Finding the perfect mixed drink can be a challenge, but this gluten-free alcohol list is a great place to start! To learn more about the art of mixology, check out the rest of our blogs.